Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Woodbridge Stars

About the team

In 1960, upon his return to Suffolk from Harefield Pirates(Middlesex), Dave Hunting found that the Woodbridge Wildcats had ceased to race. He approached Tony Soames about resurrecting the team, but as an ex Melton Meteors rider, Tony had vowed never to race for the Wildcats, the two teams having never seen eye to eye. After a lot of persuasion, it was agreed to change the name of the team to the Woodbridge Stars, thus Tony then agreed to join the team, and for the 1960 season raced under this name. 

Raced on the original Wildcats track at Fen Meadow.

Manager: Dave Hunting(1960).

Secretary: Ian Stallard, No 12 Caravan, Alnesbourne Priory, Nacton Road, Ipswich(1960).


1960 Team.

  • Alwyn Addison
  • Ronald Addison
  • Malcolm Holmes
  • Dave Hunting(1960)
  • Gerald Newson
  • Eddie Ridley
  • Trevor Skeet
  • Tony Soames(capt)
  • Ian Stallard
  • Nigel Stallard
  • John West