Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Norfolk: Thorpe Tigers

About the team

Club Secretary: Mrs Pye, 162 Thunder Lane, Thorpe, Norwich(1962).

Club Secretary: Denzil Harwood, 4 Thurling Plain, Heartsease Estate, Norwich NOR 34R(1964).

1966(Oct 23rd) Sixteen year old Bernard Hunt won the Ken McKinlay Shield at Heartsease with an impressive 14 points. Runner up was Barry Woodcock(Galley) with 13 points, and 3rd was Chris Jones(Earlsdon) with 12 points. The holder was Harry Glover.

Raced in the Norwich League 1963(finished 5th).

Team disbanded at the end of 1968.


  • M. Addison
  • Dave Clarke
  • John Dye
  • Bren Harper
  • M. Harvey
  • Denzil Harwood
  • A. Hay
  • Bernard "Barney" Hunt
  • E. Kob
  • Graham Lake
  • R. Pye
  • R. Ringer
  • M. Self
  • T. Stringer
  • P. White