Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Norfolk: Wymondham Cobras

About the team

Track was at Strayground, built in a disused gravel pit, the high banks giving the spectators excellent views.

Club formed in 1951.

Raced in the Attleborough & District League.

Club Secretary: Ronnie Tillett.

Club Manager: G. Harvey, Bellrope Lane, Folly Road, Wymondham, Norfolk.

At a meeting at Les Barnard's Cafe, the Wymondham and District Cycle Speedway League was formed.

It was Les Barnard and Alderman Moore who helped with the construction of the track.

Meetings were run complete with Starting Gates, Microphone, Programmes at 3d each.

The racing was controlled by Judges & Stewards.


  • Dave Allen
  • Neville Allen
  • Denis Grear-Hardy
  • Pat Hammond
  • Leo Howes
  • Kenny King
  • Johnny Marshall
  • Malcolm Rudling
  • Ronnie Thurston
  • Ronnie Tillett