Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Grundisburgh Bombers

About the team

Founded in 1972 by Dave Hunting, together with Clive & Christine Hammond, these three formed the first club committee, making many of the original decisions, siting of track, club name & colours etc,. Dave designed and built the track, with much help from the local residents, including cartage of chalk from the Coddenham pit, cinder from the Ipswich Hospital, and kerb stones from the Ipswich Borough yard. Dave, previously riding for Kesgrave Panthers, had been absent from the sport for a period of twelve years due to his involvement in managing various Speedway/Stock Car Stadiums around the Country.

Track on the Playing Field, Grundisburgh(next to the tennis courts).

Track Dimensions: 78yards x 16ft, first cinder on chalk base, then red shale surface(changed 1976).

Club Colours: Blue shirts, White socks. Breastplate Blue with White Bomb on front, White numbers on back.

Club Chairman: Clive Hammond(1972-73).

Club Secretary: Christine Hammond(1972-73).

Club General Manager: Dave Hunting(1972-75).

Club Chairman: Bert Grundrill(1974-75).

Club Secretary/Manager: Dave Hunting, Ceanchor, Lower Road, Grundisburgh(1974-75).

Club Chairman: Alan Ford(1978)

Club Secretary: Dave Hunting, Wookey Hole, Lings Lane, Chelmondiston, Nr Ipswich(1978).

Raced in both the East Anglian and Suffolk Leagues.

In 1974, due to a breakaway from the East Anglian Association(much of this blamed on Dave Hunting) the team raced purely in the Suffolk League.

Original Team disbanded at the end of 1975 due to internal disagreements, with many of the riders joining Leiston Aces, whilst Rob & Dick Smith returned to Trimley.

Regrouped in 1978, but ceased racing at the end of this season.

Individual Honours.

1973 Suffolk Senior Individual Champion Rob Smith(15)(Trimley), runner up Dave Hunting(14). Meeting took place at Woodbridge.

1973 Dave Hunting(15) won the Spixworth Individual Trophy, runner-up Peter Pease(South Walsham), 3rd Roy Chapman(Spixworth).

1974 Suffolk Senior Individual Champion Kenny Jessup(20), runner up Dave Hunting(19), third Robbie Haines(17)(Trimley). Meeting took place at Trimley.

1974 Suffolk Junior Individual Champion Robert Smith.

1974 Suffolk Best Pair Champions Rob Smith & Dave Hunting.

1975 Suffolk Senior Individual Champion Dave Hunting(19), runner up Rob Smith(17), 3rd Tim Emsden(17).

1976 Dave Hunting, defending his Suffolk title, fell heavily in his third race, having to retire from the meeting with an injury that would eventually cause him to retire from the sport as a rider.

Team Honours.

1974 Reached Finals of National Junior Team Championship, lost to Woodside 40-38(at Leicester).

1974 Suffolk Div 1 & 2 League Champions, plus won the Suffolk KO Cup Team Championship.

1975 Suffolk League Div 1 Champions plus won the Suffolk KO Cup Team Championship.

1978 won the St John's Cup at Great Wakering.


  • Greg Allen(1975)
  • John Chiverton(1972-75)
  • Merv Cooper(1973)
  • Paul Emsden(1974-75)
  • Tim Emsden(1974-75)
  • John Fisher(1974-75)
  • Adrian Foulger(1974-75)
  • Jeffrey Gloss(1974-75)
  • Chris Gooch(1972)
  • Chris Hart(1972-75)
  • Michael Hart(1972-75)
  • Alan Harvey(1972-75)
  • Steve Hetherington(1974-75)
  • Dave Hunting(1972-75 + 78)
  • Brian Jacobs(1974-75)
  • Colin Jacobs(1974-75)
  • Kenny Jessup(1973-75)
  • Ricky Jessup(1973-75)
  • Tim Monaghan(1974)
  • Paul Norris(1974)
  • Kenny Parker(1975)
  • Brian Paternoster(1974-75)
  • Steve Potter(1973-75)
  • Brian Quinton(1974-75)
  • David "Daisey" Read(1975)
  • Phil Read(1975)
  • Jimmy Robinson(1974)
  • Ian Sharman(1974)
  • Dick Smith(1974-75)
  • Ray Smith(1972-75)
  • Rob Smith(1974-75)
  • Robert Smith(1972-75)
  • Tim Snook(1975)
  • Kevin Stollery(1974)
  • Guy Vincent(1973-75)
  • Colin Watson(1973-74)
  • Paul Woods(1975)