Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Melton Meteors

About the team

Track was on Melton Recreation Playing Fields.

Track was 95yds, earth surface, very flat.

Raced in the Deben Area League(1950s/60s).

Club Secretary: F.E Benstead, 42 Hall Farm Road, Melton.

Club Secretary: R. Lennard, 15 Melton Hill, Woodbridge.

Individual Honours.

1954 Tony Soames won the Suffolk Individual(Bryden Trophy).

1957: Snip Bridges & Johnny Redgrave won the Suffolk Best Pairs Final.


  • Brian Backhouse
  • B. Barnes
  • F. Benstead
  • J. Bezant
  • Ron "Snip" Bridges
  • Michael Boon
  • Micky Buck
  • Martin Cole
  • B. Elvin
  • Don Friar
  • J. Gunton
  • Rod Lennard
  • Mick Orford
  • B. Parker
  • Johnny "Honny" Redgrave
  • J. Smith
  • Walter Smith
  • Tony Soames
  • Dave Spooner
  • Brian Turner
  • Ray Turner
  • D. Wade
  • J. Wade
  • I. Ward
  • R. Ward
  • P. Whitton