Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Poplar Penguins

About the team

Track was probably in Ellesmere Street E14, quite near to Bartlett Park.

Raced in the County of London League.

Raced in the East London League Div 1 1954.

Club Manager: Mr A. Padgeth, 46 Cann Hall Road, Leytonstone E11.

Club Secretary: E.G. Longhurst, 93 West Ferry Road, Millwall E14.

Track Steward: Mr W. Bray.

Reformed and raced in the East London League 1980.

Team Honours.

1954 won "The Cycle Speedway Coronation Cup". This was the last year that the cup was competed for.

Speedway Riders.

Dave Still rode for Eastbourne and Oxford.



  • Colin Booth
  • Ernie Lamacq
  • Alf Padgeth
  • Dave Still


  • Alan Cox
  • James Daly
  • Mick Daly
  • Tony Fannon
  • Terry Lovelock
  • Ian McFarlaine
  • P. Maddocks
  • Charlie Parks
  • Paul Ryan
  • Paul Troy
  • Steve Woodroof