Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Portway Penguins

About the team

Track was in Sandel Street E15, just off Abbey Road, Newham.

Original Founders of the East London League.

This track was taken over by West Ham Council in 1951-52.

New track was in Yabsley Street, Poplar E14.

Raced in the East London League Div 1 1950/51.

Club Manager: Alf Padgeth.

Club Secretary: Ernie Longhurst.

Individual Honours.

1954 Ernie Lamacq won the Essex Individual Championship.

Team Honours.

1953 won the London Coronation Cup.


  • Terry Ball
  • Ron Forman
  • Reg Gale
  • Steve Gibbons
  • Reg Goode
  • Eddie Grimstead
  • Johnnie Halloran
  • Bert Hudson
  • Bill Humphries
  • Ernie Lamacq
  • Dave Still
  • Ted Walker