Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London South West: Shaftsbury Stars

About the team

Track was in Rollo Street, off Battersea Park Road.

There were four tracks on a massive bomb site.

The Stars were one of the best Battersea Teams.

A dispute within the club in 1950 led to Derek Bacon, John Whittaker and Roy Webb leaving to form the South London Rangers.

Club Manager: Derek Bacon.

Club Secretary: John Whittaker.


  • Derek Bacon
  • S. Blackwell
  • J. Brooks
  • David Camp
  • Tommy Nouch
  • Derek Shadbolt
  • Ron Webb(capt)
  • John Whittaker
  • J. Whittaker
  • Roy Wise