Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Stepney Pirates

About the team

1st track was Arbour Square, Stepney

2nd track built in 1953 was at the corner of Turners Road & Burdett Road, Stepney E1.

Raced in the East London League Div 2 1952.

Club President: His Worship The Mayor of Stepney, Councillor A. Bermel JP.

Club Patron: P. Kay Esq.

Club Hon Manager: W "Bill" Catchpole Esq.

Club Hon Secretary: Miss J. Catchpole, 80 Stepney Green E1.

Individual Honours/

Stan Allison won the 2nd Division Individual Championship in 1952 at Janson Road.


  • Stan Allison(capt)
  • Jimmy Brown
  • Ronnie Catchpole
  • Ken Crickmar
  • Reg Dance
  • Johnny English
  • Ronnie Patto
  • Ronnie Silk
  • .... White
  • Brian Wright
  • Reggie Wright