Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North West: Stonebridge Vikings

About the team

Track was in Birchen Grove, Kingsbury NW7.

Track Length: 75/85 yards. Track Surface: Earth.

Club Colours: Red & White Rampant Lion.

Club Secretary/Manager: Trevor Redmond, 16 Mead Plat, Willesden NW10.

Club Secretary: R. Saunders, 12 The Crescent, Brickett Wood, St Albans, Herts(1962).

Club Secretary: R. Edwards, 62 Clifford Road, Wembley, Middlesex(1964).

Club Secretary: K. Harris, 158 Tokyngton Avenue, Wembley, Middlesex(1965).

Team Manager: Alan Harman.

Juniors raced in the Middlesex Independent League 1961.

Raced in the Middlesex league 1963/64.

Team closed down in 1967 when the Borough of Brent Council tipped refuse all over the track surface.

Individual Honours.

1962 Chris Hunt won the Pride of Middlesex at Hayes.

1962 Chris Hunt(15) won The Middlesex Independent League Individual at Hayes, runner up was B. Edwards(14), 3rd after a three man run-off was Mick Honour(Hendon), 4th M. Walker and 5th J. Hennessy(Hendon), all three scoring 11 points.

1963 Sid Russell(15 max) won the Middlesex Independent League Individual Championship, runner-up Chris Hunt(14). Meeting was held at Scrubs Lane.

1964 Chris Hunt(15) won the Pride of Middlesex at Bushey. Runner-up was Roy Brooks(13), and 3rd was Vic Haines(12) from Hackney.


  • B. Atkins
  • Mick Bird
  • Pete Bristow
  • Roy Brooks
  • T. Clack
  • K. Clarke
  • Pete Courts
  • R.H. Courts
  • B. Edwards
  • Ron Edwards
  • Biff Griffiths
  • Alan Harman
  • Alan Holloway
  • Robin Morse
  • Chris Hunt
  • B. Layton
  • Terry Redman
  • Sid Russell
  • Pete Sargeant
  • Les Serby
  • Dave Shaw
  • Bob Sheppard
  • M. Walker
  • Terry Walker