Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Stratford Hammers

About the team

In 1946 Len Silver and his schoolmate from Stratford Grammar School, Roy Garnham, together with other lads from the same area, joined forces to form a cycle speedway club in The Grove, Stratford.

In 1947, they moved their team to a new track in Janson Road, Stratford E15.

In 1947 the Perry Bar Juniors(Birmingham) travelled to Janson Road for a Grand Challenge match. After a very close meeting, the final race saw the Juniors win the match by just one point, the final score being 47-48.

Len spent much of his time visiting local businesses, and procurred sponsorship in the form of The Rivetts Cup(Cycle Retailers), The Stratford Express Cup(Local Newspaper), and the Phillips Cup(Meat Product Factory).

Secretary/Manager: Tom W. Garnham, 77 Vernon Road, Stratford E15.

Club Secretary: C. Lewsey, 203 Malmesbury Road, Bow E.

Assistant Manager: Mr T. Archie.

Raced in the Stratford & West Ham League.

Raced in the East London League Div 1 & 2(1948-1951).

Raced two teams(A + B) in the East London League Div 1 1952/53.

Raced one team in the East London League Div 1 1954.

A Team were White Hammers.

B Team were Black Hammers.

Major events often attracted crowds of at least 3,000 in the 40s & 50s.

Club disbanded in 1955.

Team Honours.

1949 won the East London League Div 1 unbeaten(20 points), runners-up Beckton Aces(14), 3rd Warwick Lions(14).

1949 won the East London League Division Two(being beaten just once) with 30 points, runners-up Ripple Greyhounds(28), 3rd Beckton Crusaders(22).

1949 won the "Speedway World Cup", beating Peckham Stars 106.5 - 84.5 over a two leg final.

1949 won the Phillips Cup.

1950 won the East London League Div 1.

1951 won the East London League Div 1, runners-up Walthamstow Wolves.

1951 won the East London League Div 2, runners-up Black Lion Monarchs.

1951 National Senior Team Champions, beating Chorlton Aces(Lancs) 58 - 36 at Hayes, Middlesex.

1952 won the East London League Div 1 with 42 points, being beaten just the once, runners-up Black Lion Monarchs(30 points), 3rd Walthamstow Wolves(24 points).

1953 won the East London League Div 1.

1953 won "The Cycle Speedway Coronation Cup". This cup was presented to The Poplar Penguins CSC by George Clark & Son Ltd of Millwall E14 for an open annual competition.

Individual Honours.

1949 Roy Garnham won the Division One East London Riders Championship, runner-up Ken Randall(Beckton Aces), 3rd Vic White(Warwick Lions).

1949 both Johnny Livings & Jim Heard were 'Capped' for the London Test Team.

Speedway Riders

Dennis Day rode for Ipswich - Exeter and Hackney.

Jimmy Heard rode for Eastbourne - Oxford - Hackney and Stoke.

Len Silver rode for Ipswich - Exeter and Hackney..


  • Pete Antell
  • Roy Archie
  • Ken Baxter
  • Stan Brown
  • Dennis "Twitch" Day
  • Harry Eyres
  • Roy Garnham(capt)
  • Tom Garnham
  • Terry Greenaway(1949-54)
  • Jimmy Heard
  • Terry Howse
  • Dennis Hubble
  • Ted Jones
  • Roy Latter
  • John Lock
  • Ken Lewis
  • John Livings
  • Duncan Menzies
  • Harry Milsom
  • Eddie Parham
  • Ron Shippey
  • Len Silver
  • George Stevens
  • Don Wagstaff
  • Roy Watter
  • George Welch
  • Don Whitlock
  • Ray Wilmore
  • Jackie Wilson