Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London South West: Tooting Tigers

About the team

Track was at Wimbledon Stadium, where they raced for six years..

Moved to Garratt Park, Tooting in 1955, after the stadium car park was ashfelted, sharing this track with South London Rangers.

The new track was built at the bequest of Mrs W.J. Cairns, who persuaded the Wandsworth Council to build the new track, thus ensuring to keep the youth of the day off the streets.

Raced in the Surrey Central League(Eastern Section), this being formed on the 7th November 1948. Also in 1949, later becoming the Surrey & South West London League.

Raced in the First Round of the "World" Cup in 1949, beating Kingsbury Falcons(London North West) 75 - 21 in the 1st leg. Top Scorers: Jack Giddings15, Arthur Newsom 13.

Raced in the South East London League 1950 +.

Raced in the County of London League 1952.

Raced in the Southern Premier League(formed in 1953) in 1953/54..

Life President: Mr W.J. Cairns.

Club President: J.F. Hyatt.

Club Manager/Secretary/Treasurer: W(Bill).J. Cattle, 141A Penwith Road, Earlsfield SW18.

Assistant Manager: Gerald A. Cattle.

Club Treasurer: C.J. Malyon.

Club Secretary: Mrs Ivy P. Cattle(address as Club Manager).

Club Secretary: Bill Stanard.

Club Mascot: Lynette Cattle.

Individual Honours.

1949 Ron Holvey won The Surrey Individual Championship.

1951 Ron Holvey won the SE London League Individual Championship, 3rd was Ken Shepherd.

1951 Ron Holvey & John Cooper won the SE London League Best Pairs, 3rd Dave Collins & Alan Eastment.

1951 Arthur Newsom won the London Individual Championship(NACSA), 3rd was Ron Holvey.

1952 Clive Elmer won the Senior County Individual Championship.

1952 Tommy Roman won the Junior County Individual Championship.

1953 Clive Elmer won the Southern Premier Div 1 Individual, runner-up Ron Holvey, 3rd C. Staples(Wimbledon Stars).

1954 Ron Holvey won the Southern Premier Div 1 Individual, runner-up Clive Elmer, 3rd Roy Baker(Raynes Park Tigers).

Team Honours.

1950 won the South East London League, the Glover Trophy and the Russell Cup.

1951 won the South East London League, the Glover Trophy and the Russell Cup.

1952 won the Thames Valley League Title.

1953/54/55 won the Southern Premier League.

1953/55 won the Saunders Trophy.

1956 came runners up in the Southern Premier League.

1956 won the NACSA County Title.


1949. Arthur Newsom, at the age of 21, is considered by many to be one of the 'Grand Old Men' of Cycle Speedway. But there was nothing 'old' about his riding in 1949, which earned him International honours plus the captaincy of the London Test Team against Middlesex. One of the Surrey and South West London Leagues top riders, Arthur's name is never far from the top of the score chart.

Speedway Riders.

Ernie Baker rode for Wimbledon - Wolverhampton - Plymouth - Ipswich  and Hackney.

Alan Brett rode for Aldershot.

Pete Jarman rode for Stoke - Oxford - Eastbourne - Wolverhampton and Cradley Heath.

John Leggett rode for Rayleigh and Weymouth.

Geoff Penniket rode for New Cross - Poole - Newport - Kings Lynn and Workington.

Ernie Winn rode for Eastbourne.


  • Ken Archer
  • Eric Avenell
  • Ernie Baker
  • Pete Baldwin
  • Ernie Black
  • A. Boon
  • .... Boyd
  • Johnny Braden
  • Johnny Bragg
  • Billy Breton
  • Alan Brett
  • Bernie Cable
  • Max Casper
  • Derek Cattle
  • Dave Collins
  • John Cooper
  • R. Cooper
  • Tommy Davis
  • Alan Eastment
  • Clive Elmer
  • D. England
  • R. England
  • Dave Fairfoul
  • Brian Fookes
  • B. Francis
  • Jack Giddings(capt)
  • Ray Gingell
  • Ray Godwin
  • .... Greatley
  • D. Hasler
  • Dennis Hennessey
  • Johnny Heron
  • Ron Holvey(capt)
  • M. Irvin
  • Pete Jarman
  • Ron Johnson
  • Billy LaRue
  • Brian Leaske
  • John Leggett
  • Dennis "Jack the Hat" McVitie
  • Barry Marshall
  • Chris Mitchell
  • Arthur Newsom(capt)
  • Roy Nuttall
  • Peter Oliver
  • Willie Parkes
  • Geoff Penniket
  • .... Philpot
  • Chris 'Mad-Dog' Pullen
  • Pete Pusey
  • Roy Reader
  • Tommy Roman
  • Ted Rutledge
  • Ken Shepherd
  • .... Williams
  • Ernie Winn
  • Ron Wooley