Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Walthamstow Wolves

About the team

1st track was at St James Street Station(this was an original bomb site).

2nd track was in Lower Hall Road beside railway embankment.

Club had three teams(1st - 2nd and C). 

Club Secretary: R.K. Massey, 22 Copeland Road, Walthamstow E17

Raced in the East London League Div 2 1949.

Raced in the East London League Div 1 1950/51/52/53/54.

Raced in the Hertfordshire League 1955/56.

Club Manager/Team Captain: Terry Greenaway(1955-58)

Club President: Dick Geary.

Club Manager: Howdy Gamble, 106 Farmer Road, Leyton E10.

Later Club Manager: R.K. Massey, 20 Copeland Road, Walthamstow E17.

Club Secretary: E. Rogers, 362 Blackhorse Lane, Walthamstowe E17.

Individual Honours.

1955 Terry Greenaway came =3rd in National Individual Final.

1955 Terry Greenaway won the Herts Individual Championship, runner-up Vic Cowell(Edmonton Saints), 3rd Alan Hitch(Hoddesdon Kangaroos).

1958 Pete Fraser won the Hertfordshire Grand Prix, after a run-off with  Malcolm Bell, both scored 12 points, 3rd Ron Gibbons, 4th Alan Risley, 5th Pat O'Grady(Wembley Hawks), all three scoring 11 points.

Team Honours.

1956 came runners-up in the Herts League.

1958 National Senior Team Champions, beating Tolworth Tudors(Surrey) 53 - 43 at Hungerford, Berks.

1958 South Essex Senior League Champions plus the Rivetts 4-team Trophy.

Speedway Riders.

Don Smith rode for West Ham.

Stan Stevens rode for Rye House - West Ham - Romford - Rayleigh - Kings Lynn - Cradley Heath - New Cross and Mildenhall.


  • Roy Archie
  • Fred Belcher
  • Malcolm Bell
  • Colin Booth
  • Peter Bromley
  • Cyril Bull
  • Phil Coyle
  • Alan Disley
  • .... Dulligan
  • Len Finch
  • Pete Fraser
  • Ted Gee
  • Ronnie Gibbons
  • Terry Greenaway(1958)
  • Ken Halesworth
  • Charlie 'Kaufman' Shelley(capt)
  • K. Lewis
  • Roy Massey
  • George Medcalf
  • Jimmy Morris
  • E. Palmer
  • Alan Risley
  • Ted Risley
  • Alf Russell
  • Don Smith(1951/52)
  • Stan Stevens
  • Ron Tiley
  • George Titmarsh
  • Sid Tomlyn
  • Frank Tosco
  • Barry Turner
  • Art Warboys
  • Sid "Bluey" Wilkinson