Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London South West: Wimbledon Stars

About the team

Track was on the Castle Public House car park, Tooting Broadway SW.

Club Secretary: L. Staff, 30 University Road, Colliers Wood SW19.

Raced in the South East London League.

Raced in the Surrey & South London League.

Raced in the Southern Premier League Div 1 1953/54..

Team Honours.

1952 won the first South London League competition, beating St Helier 57 - 39. The Shield was presented by Ronnie Green, Manager of Wimbledon Speedway.


  • Roy Baker
  • H. Bateman
  • Fred Bedford
  • D. Doorman
  • Ron England
  • W. Ferrari
  • J. Miller
  • C. Staples
  • S. Umney
  • Ernie Winn