Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Wales: Cardiff Dragons

About the team

Track was in Sloper Road, Cardiff.

Raced from 1968 - 1972.

Club Manager: Ray Isidoro, 9 Lincoln Street, Cardiff.

Club Secretary: Mike Harper, 30 Lincoln Street, Cardiff.

Fixtures Secretary: Dave Mercer, 25 Wentlloog Road, Rumney, Cardiff.

After many Vandal problems, an incident in 1972 resulted in the disbanding of the club at the end of the season. The incident involved police and bailiffs evicting 94 gypsy caravans from both the track and surrounding areas.

Graham Codd had his name changed by deed poll to Graham Collins.


  • Tony Allsop
  • Graham Codd
  • A. Collins
  • Graham Collins
  • Richard Donovan
  • Graham "Ellsie" Ellis(capt)
  • Bob Evans
  • G. Gardner
  • Mike Harper
  • Robin Harvey
  • Gareth Hatton
  • Paul Hatton
  • John Isidoro
  • Ray Isidoro
  • Colin LeCornu
  • Jeff Lloyd
  • Terry Loder
  • Les Manship
  • Dave Mercer
  • Stan Noble
  • Dennis O'Keefe
  • Mike Otton
  • H. Patterson
  • Ken Pike
  • Stuart Raven(1960-70)
  • B. Reynolds
  • Bill Reynolds
  • Martin Richardson
  • Andy Scantlebury
  • Greg Shepheard
  • Wally Trevellyan
  • M. Weedon
  • Brian Woodsford