Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Wales: Cardiff Hunters

About the team

Track was in Sloper Road, Cardiff.

Club Secretary: Ray Isidoro, 9 Lincoln Street, Canton, Cardiff, Glam(1966).

New 82 yard shale circuit was opened in 1967. Opening match was against Dawlish Demons, the Hunters winning 62-34.

In 1970 the track was relaid with tarmac, similar to Edmonton Monarchs track in Montagu Road.

Raced in the South Western League 1966 - 1967.



  • Tony Allsop
  • Ken Angell
  • Geoff DeCaux
  • Mike Escott
  • John Eveleigh
  • Mike Harper
  • Ray Isidoro
  • Dave Mercer
  • Martin Richardson
  • Wally Trevellyan


  • Gerry Escott
  • Stuart Raven
  • Andy Scantlebury