Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Kent: Lydd Lions

About the team

Track was at The Rype, Neville Avenue.

Raced in the Sedlescombe League 1951-1953.

League racing took place on a Saturday night.

Team Colours: Red Lion on White background.

Team Manager: Fred Cullen.

Club Secretary: R.J. Cooper, Station House, Lydd.

Several visiting soldiers rode in the team.

Team disbanded at the end of the 1953 season.

Test Match result held at Lydd on the 20th of June 1951.

Sedlescombe League 65.5 - Hastings League 54.5.


  • Cyril Adams
  • George Batchelor
  • David Bourne
  • W. Browning
  • W. Burgess
  • Brian Cooper
  • R. Galloway
  • J. Harmer
  • Brian Lindsay
  • Keith McTear
  • E. Marshall
  • Tony Paine
  • Bob Parkinson
  • E. Turk
  • Bill Webb
  • E. Webb