Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Kent: Rolvenden Rockets

About the team

Team formed in 1948.

Track was in the Star Field, which was a piece of spare land. This was one of the smallest tracks in the area, and caused the Rockets many problems when they rode away on bigger tracks.

Houses have now been built on the original site.

Track Length: 77 yards.

Club Secretary: Mrs J. Gambrill, 15 High Street, Rolvenden, Cranbrook.

Team Colours: 1) Red and White with large RR. 2) Red and White with Black Rocket.

Raced in the Sedlescombe League 1951-1956.

League racing took place on a Thursday night.

Individual Honours.

1956 John Moore won the Sedlescombe League Individual Championship scoring 14 points. Runner-up was Ron Smith(Hellingly) with 13 points, 3rd was Pete Smith(Hellingly) with 12 points. The meeting took place at Hellingly on the 7th July.

Interesting Facts.

On one of the teams visits to an away track, a wheel came off the coach, but fortunately no one was injured in the incident.


  • .... Batchelor
  • .... Chapman
  • .... Coles
  • Tony Monk
  • John Moore
  • Basil Russell
  • Robin Sims
  • .... Smith
  • .... Staines
  • Lew Wood