Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Kent: Wye Monarchs

About the team

Track was next to Village Hall.

Originally members of the Ashford & District League from 1953-1956.

Team colours not known, but included a crown.

Track Length: 100 yards.

Club disbanded at the end of the 1956 season.

Re-opened in 1969 and raced for three seasons.

Club disbanded in 1972.

Individual Honours.

1956 Hayward and Vidler won the Ashford League Best Pairs Championship.

Team Honours.

1956 won the Ashford League Championship.

Speedway Riders.

Alan Sage rode for Crayford - West Ham - Ipswich - Birmingham and Wimbledon.


Up to 1955.

  • .... Edwards
  • .... Hayward
  • Reg Luckhurst
  • M. Mickelborough
  • .... Vidler


  • G. Andrews
  • D. Ball
  • D. Broomfield
  • Phil Ellis
  • P. Jenner
  • M. Lewis
  • Alan Sage
  • R. Scott
  • R. Stagg
  • L. Terry
  • B. Whipps