Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Essex: Castle Point

About the team

Track was at Waterside Farm Sports Centre on Canvey Island.

The new track was officially opened by Councillor John Bowden, Chairman of the Castle Point District Council

Moved to Canvey Island in 1981.

The new track was constructed with the help of A & K Civil Engineering Group, who offered their services free of charge, plus the club's sponsors Concorde Plant, who provided all the equipment free of charge also. The materials cost £5,000, of which £2,250  was funded by a Sports Council grant.

This was the old Estuary Cycle Speedway Club.


  • George Bridge
  • Barry Chalk
  • Simon Daykin
  • Alan Fitzjohn
  • Eric Hemsley
  • Val Hockley
  • Nigel Hoggart
  • Ian Holmes
  • Stewart Howell
  • Richard Hughes
  • Andrew Jeckells
  • Dave Jones
  • Mark Mawditt
  • Keith Nevard
  • Kevin Nixon
  • Dave Payne
  • Graham Priest
  • Chris Riches
  • Tony Ridgwell
  • Glen Short
  • John Spooner
  • Chris Strutt
  • John Taylor
  • Alan Thompson
  • Tony Tyler
  • Shane Webb
  • Derek Wills
  • Craig Wright
  • John Wright