Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Essex: Rayleigh Rockets

About the team

Originaly the Rayleigh Racers.

First track was on waste land at the Rayleigh Speedway stadium.

Second track was at Progress Park, Rayleigh.

Raced in the Southend & District League 1961/62.

Joined Div 2 of the Home Counties League in 1964.

Raced in the Home Counties League Div 1 in 1965.

Team Manager: Charlie Kaufman.

Club Secretary: F. Ebdon, 246 Kiln Road, Thundersley, Essex(1962).

Club Secretary: D. Berrill, 18 Danbury Road, Rayleigh, Essex(1964).

Club Secretary: C. Binfield, 292 Thundersley Park Road, Benfleet, Essex(1965).

Club Honours.

1964 won the Home Counties Div 2 League, losing only one match to Kingsbury Lions. Runners-up were East Ham Stars, with 3rd place going to Hackney Cheetahs.

Disbanded at the end of the 1965 season when they merged with Estuary Rockets.


  • John Beasley
  • D. Berrill
  • E. Berril
  • Frank Berry
  • C. Binfield
  • J. Burgoyne
  • Peter Ebbs
  • Frank Ebdon
  • Mike Elsdon
  • Barry Gates
  • Roy Giggins(capt)
  • Dave Harper
  • Austen Horrex
  • Charlie Kaufman
  • Derek Munro
  • Bert Randall
  • Robin Rose
  • Bob Schooling
  • D. Smith
  • N. Smith
  • John Walden
  • Mick Webb
  • Dave Withers