Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Bow Monarchs

Team formed in 1970 with a breakaway from the Hackney Tigers/Cheetahs.

From 1970 until 1972 the team had no home track, and rode all home matches on opponents tracks.

Competed in the Home Counties League.

Club Secretary: Miss L. Gallagher, 7 Sankney House, St James Avenue, Bethnal Green, London E2.

Team Manager: Dave Fleming.

In 1972 the Lea Valley Authority arranged a piece of land at Three Mills Development, Bow for a new track to be built on. The addres being: Three Mills Centre, Three Mills Lane, Bow, London E3.

Work started on this track on 2nd Sept 1972.

Track Dimensions: 92yards x 20ft, Hartco surface.

Club Colours: Black/Orange.

Bob Leach's father donated a caravan as a club house/changing room.

Mr Middleton senior built the starting gates.

When the club eventually closed, many of the riders formed the East London Monarchs, their track being at Becton.

Club Honours.

The 1981 British Senior Individual Final was held at the Three Mills Centre, Bow. The Referee was Mr Mike Cockroft(West Yorkshire). The winner was Chris Strutt(Basildon-Essex) on 18 points, runner-up was Kevin Sutton(Somersham-Suffolk) with 17 points, 3rd was Geoff Patman(Bristol) after a run-off with Rob Wallsgrove(Coventry), both riders having scored 16 points. Other scorers: Colin Simmons(Newport) 15, Roger Ellis(Wednesfield) 14, Paul Ogden(Denton) 14, Phil Pilbrow(Norwich) 12, Paul Dyson(Halifax) 11, Alan Brown(Uxbridge) 11, Allan Miller(Bristol) 10, Les Bowden(Manchester) 10, Alan Guest(Wednesfield) 9, Karl Wilkinson(Kingstanding) 9, Mike Burgess(Bristol) 6, Colin Wheeler(Southampton) 6.

The 1981 British Under 18 Individual Final was held at the Three Mills Centre. The Referee was Mr Rob Dyer(Dorset). The winner was Jimmy Varnish(Kingstanding-Birmingham) with a 20 point maximum. Runner-up was Calvin Stevens(Sandwell-West Midlands) with 18 points, 3rd was Paul Docker(Wednesfield) on 16 points. Other scorers: Grant Living(Southampton) 15, Mark Giles(Coventry) 14, Dave Ireland(Basildon-Essex) 14, Richard Edge(Horspath-Oxford) 14, Colin Gill(Thurrock-Essex) 13, Tim Snook(Kesgrave-Suffolk) 12, Dave Corfield(Havant-Hants) 11, Simon Plows(Hull) 11, Nicky Rush(Great Blakenham-Suffolk) 10, Steve Cox(Horspath) 9, Dave Lunn(Heckmondwike-West Yorks) 7, Dave Lane(Wednesfield) 7, Anthony Moseley(Halifax) 7.

Speedway Riders.

Martin Hagon rode for Hackney.


  • Kevin Barnaby
  • Ian Budd(1970/71)
  • Alan Cox
  • Michael Cox
  • Alan Cross
  • Mick Daly
  • Bob Dewis
  • Fran Duncan
  • T. Fannon
  • Andy Farquarson
  • Paul Godsale
  • Martin Hagon
  • Derek Harvey
  • Ray Hawes
  • Dave Hughes
  • Ray Johnson
  • Tott King
  • Bob Leach
  • Frank Lovelock
  • Terry Lovelock
  • D. McKenna
  • K. McKenna
  • Rajosh Madhani
  • N. Maloney
  • James Manning
  • Jeff Middleton
  • Ray Middleton
  • T. Nash
  • Charlie Parks
  • Phil Reynolds
  • Paul Ryan
  • Gerry Shaw
  • John Smith
  • Kevin Smith
  • Nicky Thresher
  • Stan Thompson
  • Kevin Walker
  • Graham Warner
  • Glyn Whale
  • Alan Williams
  • Steve Woodroof
  • Graham Wright